Skip to main content

2019 Student Awards Banquet

The 2018-2019 Student Awards Banquet gives the department a chance to get together and celebrate the accomplishments and hard work over the past year.

View the full gallery of photos

Honored Speaker

Dr. Bill Hunt

Student Awards

BAE Senior Awards

Kaitlin Perkins Citizenship and Service Award

Carrie Sanford Leadership Award

Hannah Monroe Scholarly Achievement Award

James Edwards Humanities Award

Benji Goodrich Outstanding Scholarship Award

Undergraduate achievements

Mallory Alman  Virginia Tech Water Science and Engineering REU Scholar, Co-President Food Recovery Network

Micah Croft Dragonfly Pondworks Scholar

Carrie Sanford Office of Undergraduate Research Academic Year Grant, SWE Collegiate Research Rapid Fire Competition Finalist, BAE Research and Educational Enhancement Program (REEP) Scholar

Justin Traenkle New Faces of ASABE, 2019 Honoree, COE Ambassador

Hannah Monroe Office of Undergraduate Research Academic Year Grant

Undergraduate Scholarships

Alisha Hudson  Jane P and Charles W. Suggs Scholarship

Layla El-Khoury  Jane P and Charles W. Suggs Scholarship

David Walser  Jane P and Charles W. Suggs Scholarship, H.S Battie Scholarship

Alston Willard  Jane P and Charles W. Suggs Scholarship, NCVMA Scholarship

Karen Sloan  Ronald E. Sneed NC Irrigation Society Scholarship

Benjamin Foote  J.C. and Nancy Ferguson Scholarship, Employee Dependent Tuition Scholarship, DFNCF 2018 Grant

Thomas Alexander  NC Section, ASABE Scholarship, James R. Brown Scholarship

Hannah Monroe  Barbara and George Blum Scholarship

Carrie Sanford  CALS Agricultural Foundation Scholarship, ACC Academic Consortium Fellowship

Kaitlin Perkins  Dallas and Angela Silverthorne Scholarship, Pack Promise Scholarship

James Edwards  Ben Franklin Scholar

Mallory Alman  Park Scholar

Justin Traenkle  Park Scholar

Clayton Honeycutt  Park Scholar

Elizabeth Beyer  Park Scholar

Trent Hooley  Goodnight Scholar, J.T. McCarter, Sr. Scholarship

Kaylee Saaranen  Goodnight Scholar

Erica Lisowe  Caldwell Alumni Scholarship

Esmira Poladova  Pack Promise Scholarship

William Wheeler  Winslow Foundation Scholarship, Marvin Godfrey Scholarship

Reginald Strickland  Fred G. Bond Tobacco Scholarship, A. Tab Williams Scholarship Endowment

Graduate Scholarships

Amethyst Kelly Henry D. Bowen Fellowship

Caleb Mitchell F.J. Hassler Fellowship

Emine Fidan Provost’s Doctoral Fellowship

Vashti Campbell Provost’s Doctoral Fellowship

Alexis Swanson College of Engineering Graduate Merit Award

Abhinav Sharma University Graduate Fellowship

Rifat Hasan F.J. Hassler Fellowship

Suraiya Akter Provost’s Doctoral Fellowship, University Graduate Fellowship

Alison Deviney Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research Fellowship

Graduate Achievements

Emine FidanHonorable Mention, National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

Diplina PaulStudent Oral Presentation Award at Aquaculutre 2019

Brock KamrathWRRI Poster Competition Award Winner

Lise MontefioreSoutheast Climate Adaptation Science Center 2019-20 Global Change Fellow and NC Sea Grant/Water Resources Research Institute Graduate Student Research Award              

Megan BolandNC State University Sustainability Award, NC State Sustainability Steward’s Academic Success Coordinator

Alison DevineySelected to participate in ComSciCon-Triangle 2018 Workshop

Mahmoud ShehataSelected to receive NCSU GSA Travel Award, attended the American Geophysical Union Conference

Ehsan BagheriAwarded the Agricultural Leadership Learning Institute Certificate



Mike Boyette University Outstanding Teacher Award

Jason Ward BAE Outstanding Professor of the Year

Grant Ellington Outstanding Extension Specialist

Praveen Kolar Outstanding Teacher

Natalie Nelson Outstanding Young Faculty

Bill Hunt Outstanding Research

Garey Fox elected to ASABE Board of Trustees (2019-2022), first Editor-in-Chief of ASABE journals

Laura Merriman 2019 Class of New Faces of ASABE

Lacy Parrish 2018 Pride of the Wolfpack Award

Neil Bain 2018 CALS Safety Award

BAE Sustainability Committee grant from the NC State Sustainability Fund for community-building vertical gardens ecosystem at Weaver Labs

Thank You To Our Donors

James and Kathleen Hipps

Eustace O. Beasley

Barbara and George Blum

Henry D. Bowen

Mae Mae Dolan

Robert O. Evans

J.C. and Nancy M. Ferguson

F.J. Hassler

Ezra L. Howell

William and Glenda Johnson

NC Section of the ASABE

R. Wayne and Judy Skaggs

Ronald E. Sneed

Jane P. and Charles W. Suggs

E. J. Tyson